Food at Home

After reading report on the state of food and drink in Sunday’s NY Times Magazine, I was inspired to dig up any documented images of recipes that were made at home. What was so great about the coverage? The coverage by Mark Bittman, Michael Pollan, Stephanie Sinclair, and other thoughtful writers was informative, fun, and real. It wasn’t an all or nothing but more of working with what you have… and it didn’t necessarily mean all-organic. I really enjoyed Bittman’s simple dinner recipes addressing 4 key regions, chef Q&A, best food book, movie.. ever, and, the one closest to my heart, food as art. I love the copy and keep it among my cookbooks, wedged between Sunday Suppers at Lucques and the Union Square Cafe Cookbook. Trying to do my part in a very small way, I pulled a few home favorites from my old blog. I’ll post more recipes over the next few weeks but will start with my go-to-sauce.

This is my sauce for all seasons when my weekly routine is met with a few surprises, like sick children, traffic, etc. I chop a few types of vegetables, cook them in olive oil for a few minutes, add broth, and put into a low-temperature oven. After about 4 hours, I use a hand mixer to create an all-purpose sauce for the week.

I like using carrots, orange bell peppers, celery, and a red onion, but use whatever is in your fridge. Add olive oil to a pot and cook the chopped vegetables and minced garlic (1-2) for a few minutes. Add one 14.5-ounce can of chopped tomatoes (or your homemade batch) and enough broth to cover vegetables. Bring to boil then place in a 250-degree oven for about 4 hours. Alternatively, you can cover and simmer for about 2 hours. Once done, let it cool, then puree to desired consistency. Here, I used the sauce for pasta, added cooked fennel sausage, and topped with our favorite tasty greens, baby arugula. Fridays are movie and pizza night so any leftover sauce is spread over pizza and topped with fresh mozzarella. Yummy!

About Lizelle Green

Hello, my name is Lizelle Green and I’m a creative curator of things relating to food, design, style, paper, and photography for moms. My home, and inspiration, is warmed by two exuberant children, a thoughtful husband, and affectionate dog. I do hope you come by often! { All images are by Lizelle Green unless otherwise noted. }
This entry was posted in Family, Food & Drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

