Watermelon Lemonade

One of the many comforts of renting a summer house is that you have lots of room to play, and we like to play in the kitchen. For our holiday in Kenwood, we made two pitchers of Aida Mollencamp’s Watermelon-Rosemary Lemonade to accompany a Latin-inspired menu which consisted of simple but tasty dishes: Arroz con Pollo, Gallo Pinto, Skirt Steak, Chorizo Hand Pies, and warm tortillas.

I like drinks with an herbal twist, and this definitely was a rosemary with gusto juice. While the original recipe will certainly yield a memorable refresher, I changed just a few things for my taste:

1. For the simple syrup, instead of removing leaves from half of the 6 rosemary sprigs, I kept them all on. Hence, the big rosemary nose.

2. The original recipe looked a bit thick so I liquefied the juice for a smoother finish.

3. We tested the lemonade with sparkling water (in recipe) and without. No fizz won hands down.

4. And, oh dear, I completely forgot the blackberries! Next time.

Finally, I made them on the rocks virgin for the kids and with a generous splash of rum for the grown-ups (used Ron Zacapa Centenario 23). Hmmm hmmm good. What is your favorite summertime drink?

About Lizelle Green

Hello, my name is Lizelle Green and I’m a creative curator of things relating to food, design, style, paper, and photography for moms. My home, and inspiration, is warmed by two exuberant children, a thoughtful husband, and affectionate dog. I do hope you come by often! { All images are by Lizelle Green unless otherwise noted. }
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Watermelon Lemonade

  1. trialsinfood says:

    sounds and looks refreshing!

Leave a Reply

