Part I: Totoro Birthday Party

Amidst all the holiday madness, I’m planning a Hayao Miyazaki theme 8th birthday party for my daughter. She’s had her heart set on one since, believe it or not, January! While we love all his movies, finding a fun movie-related activity was a challenge. My Neighbor Totoro seemed to offer more in the area of arts & crafts. Etsy to the rescue! I found a Cat Bus pencil bag kit that was a perfect project for the girls, though I am recruiting a few friends to help with sewing since this is the response I get when sewing a hole in a sock “Mom, I don’t mean to hurt your feelings, but you don’t sew very well.” Well, at least I can put together a decent invitation. I was inspired by Kirsten’s lovely Miyazaki party invitations. I kept it simple with card stock, envelopes, rubber stamp, and vellum from Paper Source { moss scallop cards & envelopes, cement flat cards } and sparkle twine from Olive Manna. The final touch, an introduction to the beloved Cat Bus was in order.

“Mrrraaaaow! It was the Cat Bus.
In the fading light, they could see
he Cat Bus racing towards them.”

To be continued…

About Lizelle Green

Hello, my name is Lizelle Green and I’m a creative curator of things relating to food, design, style, paper, and photography for moms. My home, and inspiration, is warmed by two exuberant children, a thoughtful husband, and affectionate dog. I do hope you come by often! { All images are by Lizelle Green unless otherwise noted. }
This entry was posted in Family, Home & Garden, Paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Part I: Totoro Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: Part II: Totoro Birthday Party | Mostly Green

Leave a Reply

