Remembering Robin Williams 1951-2014


O’Captain My Captain

Image: Scott Wintrow/Getty Images

Image: Scott Wintrow/Getty Images

If have a chance, please listen to Robin Williams with Fresh Air’s Terry Gross. His energy will make you laugh and his earnest life stories will probably make you cry.

Not too long ago, I was in line at a local eatery. Only after hearing a few whispers and seeing several people staring my way, did I notice that Mr. Williams was directly in front of me. Recalling all the recent negative press on him battling substance abuse, etc., I put my hand on his shoulder and asked how he was doing. He looked at me with a gentle smile and said, “Okay… I’m doing okay.” I smiled back.

I never met Mr. Williams until that day. Although, he was the source so much joy and laughter when I was growing up, first with Mork & Mindy, then later with Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire (my kids favorite), Good Will Hunting (my husband’s favorite), Dead Poets Society (my favorite), and so many more. He was a brilliant actor with a warm smile and contagious giddiness. We will all miss him so very much.

2006 Interview with Fresh Air’s Terry Gross:
Robin Williams: In Looking For Laughs, ‘You Have To Be Deeply Honest’

Also on npr.org:
What Robin Williams Taught Us About Teaching

About Lizelle Green

Hello, my name is Lizelle Green and I’m a creative curator of things relating to food, design, style, paper, and photography for moms. My home, and inspiration, is warmed by two exuberant children, a thoughtful husband, and affectionate dog. I do hope you come by often! { All images are by Lizelle Green unless otherwise noted. }
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering Robin Williams 1951-2014

  1. Kati Seymore says:

    nicely done, Lizelle:-)

Leave a Reply

